print preview

Studying and elite sport

The Swiss Federal Institute of Sport Magglingen SFISM offers elite athletes the opportunity to individually coordinate their studies and examinations, allowing them to train and compete during the period of study. These parameters make it possible to successfully reconcile the demands of elite sport and studies.

Carole_2022

Services provided by SFISM

As a university for sport, SFISM is particularly keen to support Switzerland's emerging and elite athletes. On the one hand this support takes the form of specific courses offered by Sports Coach Education Switzerland and the Master of Science in Sport with Specialization in Elite Sport. On the other hand, creating conditions that enable elite athletes to study also makes it much easier for them to combine their sporting activities with their studies. To help squad athletes reconcile these two aspects, the Swiss Federal Institute of Sport Magglingen SFISM offers elite athletes professional advice and assistance so that their academic training can be completed successfully despite the heavy demands that elite sport places on their time.

Advice

SFISM representatives are available to provide athletes with individual study guidance and planning. Throughout the period of study, regular (usually every 6 months) coordination meetings can be held involving the student, the coach and the SFISM representative. Here, study planning is coordinated with sport training and competition planning.

Admission

Elite athletes who possess a Swiss Olympic Card Gold, Silver, Bronze or Elite from the umbrella organisation for sport in Switzerland or who were in possession of one up to one year before applying for the aptitude assessment are admitted to the Bachelor's degree course without a practical sports aptitude assessment, as long as they meet the other admission requirements.

Examinations

Elite athletes are required to attain the same academic achievements as all other students in the competence evaluations. In justified cases, they may submit an application for a different examination location or time.

Training in Magglingen

Students may use the infrastructure in Magglingen for their individual sports training. Provided there is a corresponding agreement between the Federal Office of Sport FOSPO and the national governing body for the sport in question, services including performance diagnostics, sport psychology, physiotherapy and massage may also be used, and permanent residence may be applied for through the association in Magglingen.

What is required of students and their associations

Commensurate commitment is expected from students in both sport and their studies. The course must be completed with the necessary diligence. The SFISM requires that the national governing body for the relevant sport, the regional elite training centre and/or the association in question defines a contact person who takes part in the coordination meetings with the SFISM. An initial discussion takes place at the time of application to study at the SFISM, so that the students can then benefit from the special services provided by the SFISM. 


Swiss Federal Institute of Sport Magglingen SFISM Hauptstrasse 247
CH-2532 Magglingen

BSc EHSM in Sports

Monika Kurath
Tel. +41 58 467 65 83
E-Mail


MSc EHSM in Elite Sports

Fabian Lüthy
Tel. +41 58 467 65 45
E-Mail

Swiss Federal Institute of Sport Magglingen SFISM

Hauptstrasse 247
CH-2532 Magglingen

print preview

Studium und Spitzensport

Die Eidgenössische Hochschule für Sport Magglingen EHSM bietet Spitzensportlerinnen und Spitzensportlern eine individuelle Abstimmung von Studium und Prüfungen, die Training und Wettkampf während des Studiums zulässt. Diese Rahmenbedingungen ermöglichen eine gelingende Vereinbarkeit von Spitzensport und Studium.

Carole_2022

Leistungen der EHSM

Als Hochschule für Sport ist es der EHSM ein besonderes Anliegen, den schweizerischen Nachwuchsleistungs- und Spitzensport zu unterstützen. Diese Begünstigung erfolgt einerseits durch zielgerichtete Ausbildungsangebote der Trainerbildung Schweiz sowie den Studiengang Master of Science in Sports mit Ausrichtung in Spitzensport. Andererseits trägt auch das Schaffen von spitzensportfreundlichen Studienbedingungen erheblich dazu bei, die Vereinbarkeit von Spitzensport und Studium zu verbessern. Um den Kaderathletinnen und -athleten die Vereinbarkeit von Studium und Spitzensport zu erleichtern, bietet die Eidgenössische Hochschule für Sport Magglingen EHSM Spitzensportlerinnen und Spitzensportlern kompetente Beratung und Begleitung, so dass die akademische Ausbildung trotz der hohen zeitlichen Belastung durch den Spitzensport erfolgreich absolviert werden kann. 

Beratung

Die EHSM-Beauftragten stehen den Athletinnen und Athleten für die individuelle Studienberatung und -planung zur Seite. Während der gesamten Studiendauer können regelmässig (im Normalfall halbjährlich) Koordinationssitzungen in Anwesenheit der oder des Studierenden, der Trainerin oder des Trainers sowie der EHSM-Beauftragten beansprucht werden. Dabei wird die Studienplanung mit der sportlichen Trainings- und Wettkampfplanung koordiniert.

Aufnahme

Spitzensportlerinnen und -sportler, die im Besitz einer Swiss Olympic Card Gold, Silber, Bronze oder Elite des Dachverbands des Schweizer Sports sind oder die bis höchstens ein Jahr vor der Anmeldung zur Eignungsabklärung im Besitz einer solchen waren, werden ohne sportpraktische Eignungsabklärung zum Bachelorstudiengang zugelassen, sofern sie die übrigen Zulassungsvoraussetzungen erfüllen.

Prüfungen

Die Spitzensportlerinnen und -sportler haben bei den Kompetenznachweisen dieselben akademischen Leistungen zu erbringen wie alle anderen Studierenden. Sie können in begründeten Fällen Antrag auf angepassten Prüfungsort oder -zeitpunkt einreichen.

Training in Magglingen

Die Studierenden können die Infrastruktur in Magglingen für das individuelle sportliche Training nutzen. Sofern zwischen dem Bundesamt für Sport BASPO und dem nationalen Sportverband eine entsprechende Vereinbarung besteht, können allenfalls auch Dienstleistungen der Leistungsdiagnostik, der Sportpsychologie, Physiotherapie sowie Massagen beansprucht und über den Verband Zimmer in Magglingen zum Daueraufenthalt beantragt werden.

Anforderungen an die Studierenden und deren Verbände

Von den Studierenden wird ein angemessenes Engagement sowohl im Sport als auch im Studium erwartet. Das Studium muss mit der notwendigen Sorgfalt absolviert werden. Die EHSM setzt voraus, dass der nationale Sportverband, das regionale Leistungszentrum beziehungsweise der Verein eine Ansprechperson definiert, die an den Koordinationssitzungen mit der EHSM teilnimmt. Eine erste Besprechung erfolgt zum Zeitpunkt der Anmeldung zum Studium an der EHSM, damit die Studierenden danach von den speziellen Leistungen der EHSM profitieren können. 

 


Eidgenössische Hochschule für Sport Magglingen EHSM Hauptstrasse 247
2532 Magglingen

Bsc EHSM in Sports

Monika Kurath
Tel. +41 58 467 65 83
E-Mail


MSc EHSM Spitzensport

Fabian Lüthy
Tel. +41 58 467 65 45
E-Mail


Verantwortlicher Studienberatung

Martin Rytz
Tel. +41 58 467 62 59
E-Mail

Eidgenössische Hochschule für Sport Magglingen EHSM

Hauptstrasse 247
2532 Magglingen