Historical outline

Aus dem Archiv: Sportaufnahmen aus dem letzten Jahrhundert.

 

On 3 March 1944, the Swiss Federal Council authorized the then Federal Military Department (EMD) to set up a school for gymnastics and sport in Magglingen. The decision to make Magglingen the location for the school marked the start of a pioneering development that was to prove decisive for sport in Switzerland. The legal foundations of the gymnastics and sport school were laid down in 1947, and an order dated 20 January 1948 set out the remit and the organization of the school, creating the statutory framework for the many activities the school carried out on behalf of the Confederation until 1972. As well as administration, these activities included education, research and advisory services, plus a publications and film service.

A research centre had been envisaged from the outset, but a specific research institute did not come into being until 1966.

In 1989 the school was named the Swiss Federal Sports School Magglingen ESSM. In 1999, the ever-growing importance of sport in society, and therefore also in politics, led to further restructuring and the founding of the Federal Office of Sport FOSPO. Close links were forged with the Bern University of Applied Sciences BFH, to which SFISM is still attached today.

The Swiss Federal Institute of Sport Magglingen SFISM was established in 2005 from the merger of ESSM with the SWI Research Institute. In 2010 the Y+S Youth and Sport domain was hived off from SFISM to form a separate division within FOSPO. This removal of the Y+S sport promotion function created the necessary conditions for SFISM to establish its own identity as a university of applied sciences.

Note

The research publication «Die Eidgenössische Sportschule Magglingen 1944-1994: 50 Jahre im Dienst der Sportförderung» (The Swiss Federal Sports School Magglingen 1944–1994: 50 years of promoting sport) by Lutz Eichenberger describes the development of ESSM in detail. It is available to read or borrow from SFISM's media library.


Swiss Federal Institute of Sport Magglingen SFISM Hauptstrasse 247
CH-2532 Magglingen
Tel.
+41 58 467 61 11

E-Mail


Print contact

Swiss Federal Institute of Sport Magglingen SFISM

Hauptstrasse 247
CH-2532 Magglingen

Show map

Historischer Abriss

Aus dem Archiv: Sportaufnahmen aus dem letzten Jahrhundert.

Am 3. März 1944 ermächtigte der Schweizerische Bundesrat das Eidgenössische Militärdepartement EMD, eine Turn- und Sportschule mit Sitz in Magglingen einzurichten. Der damalige Entscheid zugunsten des «Standorts Magglingen» war der Anfang einer für die Schweizer Sportbewegung wegweisenden Entwicklung. Die rechtliche Verankerung der Turn- und Sportschule ETS erfolgte 1947, die Verfügung vom 20. Januar 1948 regelte die Aufgaben und Organisation der ETS, welche bis 1972 die rechtliche Grundlage für die zahlreichen Aufgaben darstellte, welche die ETS im Auftrag des Bundes wahrzunehmen hatte. Genannt werden die Aufgaben Ausbildung, Forschung und Beratung, Publikations- und Filmdienst sowie Verwaltung.

Schon in den Anfangsjahren plante man die Schaffung einer Forschungsstelle, aber erst 1966 wurde ein spezielles Forschungsinstitut geschaffen.

1989 wurde die ETS in Eidgenössische Sportschule Magglingen ESSM umbenannt. Die immer grössere gesellschaftliche und somit politische Bedeutung des Sports führte schliesslich im Jahre 1999 zur Umorganisation der Sportschule zum Bundesamt für Sport BASPO. Schon damals wurde eine enge Verknüpfung mit der Berner Fachhochschule BFH geschaffen, welcher die EHSM auch heute noch angegliedert ist.

2005 entstand die EHSM durch die Fusion von ESSM und dem Forschungsinstitut SWI. 2010 wurde der Bereich Jugend und Sport J+S aus der EHSM ausgegliedert und zu einer eigenen Abteilung innerhalb des BASPO. Die Herauslösung des sportpolitischen Sportförderungsinstruments J+S schuf die notwendigen Grundlagen für die EHSM, um sich eine eigene Identität als Hochschule zu erarbeiten.

Anmerkung

Die Forschungsschrift «Die Eidgenössische Sportschule Magglingen 1944- 1994: 50 Jahre im Dienst der Sportförderung» von Lutz Eichenberger arbeitet die Entwicklung der ESSM eingehend und sorgfältig auf. Sie steht Interessierten u.a. in der Sportmediathek der EHSM zur Einsicht und Ausleihe bereit.


Eidgenössische Hochschule für Sport Magglingen EHSM Hauptstrasse 247
2532 Magglingen
Tel.
+41 58 467 61 11

E-Mail


Kontakt drucken

Eidgenössische Hochschule für Sport Magglingen EHSM

Hauptstrasse 247
2532 Magglingen

Karte ansehen